"Books are still being banned and challenged today. A challenge is an attempt to remove or restrict materials, based upon the objections of a person or group. A banning is the removal of those materials.
While books have been and continue to be banned, part of the Banned Books Week celebration is the fact that, in a majority of cases, the books have remained available. This happens only thanks to the efforts of librarians, teachers, students, and community members who stand up and speak out for the freedom to read." - ALA OIF
Read or search the resources below for more details on book censorship.
Opposing Viewpoints is a database that covers current and controversial topics. It includes pro and con articles, topic overviews, primary documents, academic journal and newspaper articles, court case overviews, statistics, media and web sites.
If you are not on campus, access the Library Passwords document to search this database.
Points of View Reference Center is a database that covers current and controversial topics. It includes point and counterpoint articles, topic overviews, primary documents, academic journal and newspaper articles, court case overviews
If you are not on campus, access the Library Passwords document to search this database.
Guideline on Students' Right to Read (NCTE)
A statement from the National Council for Teachers of English (NCTE) in support of students' right to read, and tips for defending that right.
Sample Book Rationale from Rick Riordan for "The Lightning Thief"
Author Riordan provides an example of a book rationale for his book Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief.
Interview with Lois Lowry
A 2007 interview with author Lois Lowry, author of frequently challenged book The Giver.