Library Website: Stereotypes : Research

Databases

Remember:

Use specific key terms in your searches
Keep a list of synonyms handy
Ask for help if you aren't finding relevant information
Do not type full sentences into the database

Encyclopedia Britannica This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedia articles, multimedia, primary sources and more learning resources that support student research across all subject areas.
Middle School In Context This link opens in a new window
This database combines the best of Gale's reference content with videos, newspapers, magazines, primary sources, and more. Students will find support in subjects including literature, science, social studies, and history.
Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Opposing Viewpoints is for those seeking contextual information and opinions on hundreds of today's hottest social issues. This database features continuously updated viewpoints, topic overviews, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, statistics, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted websites organized into a user-friendly portal experience.
World Book This link opens in a new window

MSHS Library Databases and Passwords

Websites

These are organizations who strive to educate people about stereotypes. These might be helpful in locating statistical evidence.

AAUW - Gender Equity
ACLU - Multiple
Amnesty International - Women's Rights
CLASS Action - economic inequality (income, money, and wealth)
Equality and Human Rights Commission - Multiple, UK-perspective
GLAAD - Sexual Orientation
Human Rights Watch - GLBTQ+
United Nations: Let's Fight Racism - Global Racism
United Nations: Human Rights - this page focuses on ableism

Videos

Although it can be time consuming, finding the right video might help in your evidence gathering of your stereotype. To be a smart and safe searcher, you can use Kiddle for this project...just be sure to click "Videos" instead of "enter."