A bibliography is a list of sources (books, journals, Web sites, periodicals, etc.) one has used for researching a topic. Bibliographies are sometimes called "References" or "Works Cited" depending on the style format you are using (APA or MLA, respectively). A bibliography usually just includes the bibliographic information (i.e., the author, title, publisher, etc.) for each source, in an alphabetically organized list.
Works Cited: is the term for the list of sources actually documented (paraphrased or quoted) in your project, generally through parenthetical citation. All of the parenthetical references in the paper or project should lead the reader to this list of sources.
Works Consulted: is the term used for the list of sources used in the preparation of a research project. It is used to list background reading, summarized sources, or any sources used for informational purposes but not paraphrased or quoted. It is used to document those sources referred to, but not cited in your project.
An annotation is a summary and/or evaluation. Therefore, an annotated bibliography includes a summary and/or evaluation of each of the sources. Generally an annotated bibliography stands on its own and is not attached at the back of a paper. Depending on your project or the assignment, your annotations may have some of the elements below.
Summarize: Some annotations merely summarize the source. What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say? The length of your annotations will determine how detailed your summary is
Assess: After summarizing a source, it may be helpful to evaluate it. Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable/credible? Is this source biased or objective? What is the goal of this source? Is the author (or authors) an expert in the field?
For more help, see the CRAAP test
Reflect: Once you've summarized and assessed a source, you need to ask how it fits into your research. Consider answering the following questions:
How is this source helpful to you?
How does it help you shape your argument?
How can you use this source in your research project?
Has it changed how you think about your topic?
Is it too scholarly? Not scholarly enough?
Is it too general/specific?
If your topic is broad, has this source helped you to narrow your topic?
How does the type of source treat your topic differently than other sources (how a magazine might differ from a reference source).
Reasons to do a formal annotated bibliography:
Summarize information from sources
Evaluate sources
Assess how sources might be used for your research task
Assist in time / energy management
Formal annotated bibliographies have…
A clear purpose
Multiple paragraphs as needed to suit your purpose
Block paragraphs (no indent, put an extra space between the citation and annotation)
Perfect citations, listed alphabetically, reverse indented, and double spaced
Clear, focused writing (no rambling)
Scholarly tone (no personal pronouns such as “I” or “You”, no contractions)
Sample 1 from an FDR student
Sample 2 from an FDR student
Sample annotated bibliography from Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL)
Another Option: Mini annotated bibliographies (taking notes underneath your source links)
Mini annotated bibliographies help you remember:
what the source can be used for
what information it contains
how valuable it might be
any questions you have about its reliability